Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
All reviews - Movies (8) - TV Shows (7) - DVDs (2)

Goodnight, Mister Tom review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:49 (A review of Goodnight, Mister Tom)

Such a touching movie. It will definelty bring tears to your eyes. The story and acting are great. It is a CLEAN family movie, but probably for older kids due to the abuse content. My husband and I really enjoyed it a lot, but didn't let our 8 and 11 year kids watch it.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:47 (A review of Anne of Green Gables: The Continuing Story)

WHAT HAPPENED???? HUGE disappointment!!! I wish I never saw it. Loved the first 2 - watch them over and over. After watching this one - I'm SO MAD AT ANNE!!! What in the world was going on between her and Jack? Isn't she supposed to be in love with Gilbert? Poor Gilbert. Shame on Anne!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The 1900 House review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:44 (A review of The 1900 House)

I love the victorian era and I really LOVED this PBS series. The victorian life seems so glamorous, but you learn how hard some things were living as an upper-middle class family (things like keeping the stove lit, doing the laundry, cleaning the house, ect). The family that was chosen seemed like a really nice family and the show was clean. Another great series is Manor House.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Flywheel review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:43 (A review of Flywheel)

Refreshing! So nice to see a movie with such a great message. Real guy, real struggles, real problems with a choice to make. 1) Continue down his current path which isn't working for him as a provider, as a husband, or as a father. 2) Or turn to God for help. It's inspiring to see what God can do when we let him sit in the driver's seat. This is the 1st movie written by these 2 brothers. The other 2 are also very good - Facing the Giants & Fireproof.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Night Crossing review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:43 (A review of Night Crossing)

We loved this movie! I saw it as a child and stumbled across it as an adult. We rented it when my son was in 6th grade & studying the holocaust in school. We looked for a holocaust movie to add to his educational expierence, but were unable to find any mild enough. This movie was great b/c it was based on a true story. Not a holocaust movie, but it showed our son what some people were willing to go through for their freedom. There is one scene in the begining that we fast forwarded through - I had previewed it ahead of time. In the scene, a teen decided he had to be free and just couldn't wait any longer. He drove a tractor into a guard shack to knock it down. He was discovered by a dog and decided to jump the fence. When he did he was shot down by the automatic guns triggered by the fence. This was the only scene that we felt wasn't appropriate for our son. I would suggest skipping this scene for the kids. The scene was short and very easy to skip. Previously reported as s little slow, I found it realistic, many times intense, and it even had an unexpected twist. It is definetly worth watching!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

pans labyrinth review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:35 (A review of pans labyrinth)

Adult movie - not for kids. Handful of bad words and violence/torture. No nudity. Would've given it 10 stars if it weren't for bad language. The story was really great. It has the kind of stuff in it to interest both men and women. My husband liked the war/violence & I love fairy tale type movies. I don't mind subtitles, but wished this one was in English b/c the visual effects were so really amazing!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Dark Crystal review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:32 (A review of The Dark Crystal)

Clean movie - watched as a family. Jim Henson did a great job! Probably too scary for young kids. My 9 & 12 loved it. There is almost 1 hour of behind the scenes (in the extras section) which really shows what went into the making of this film. That part was EXTREMELY good. I let my kids see a couple of the characters from the behind the scenes section first, so they would appreciate the movie a little more. It had them trying to guess throughout the movie how a person could fit into each costume or if they were a puppet.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Ice Road Truckers review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:31 (A review of Ice Road Truckers)

My husband and I just finished disc 1, and we really enjoyed it! We didn't let our kids watch it, due to the truckers language. I think all of the bad words were bleeped out, but they used God's name in vain many times, and that wasn't edited out. It's very intersting and just plain crazy what these truckers go through to make money. We're looking forward to disc 2. I would give the same review to the series Ax Men.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Hot Lead and Cold Feet review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:29 (A review of Hot Lead and Cold Feet)

Kids = loved it. Parents = didn't. We watched this movie as a family (boys 9 & 12). Our kids really liked it and were laughing the whole time. We all love Don Knotts, and the parts with him in it were funny. We wish he had been the main character. The rest of the movie is just too silly for adults, like they were trying too hard. I would say let the kids watch it for a treat, while the parents have a little time to themselves.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Never Cry Wolf review

Posted : 6 years, 11 months ago on 15 September 2010 05:29 (A review of Never Cry Wolf)

Really only worth 5 stars. I had a hard time buying into the fact that they would drop a man off in the middle of nowhere, who seemed so unprepared to survive in the wild. I think Dances with Wolves did a much better job. Also, as a WARNING: there are a few scenes with MALE NUDITY. I wish they would've handled those scenes a little differently, and kept it clean for family viewing.


0 comments, Reply to this entry


« Prev12 Next »

Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block